Senate GOP Elects Leadership Team for
2013-14 Legislative Session

HARRISBURG – Senate Republicans today elected their leadership team for the 2013-2014 legislative session.

Senator Joe Scarnati (R-25) has been nominated once again to serve as President Pro Tempore. The full Senate will vote on Scarnati’s nomination when it reconvenes in January. As President Pro Tempore, he will be responsible for appointing the chairpersons and members of the standing committees of the Senate. He will also play a significant role in negotiations with the Administration and the House of Representatives.

A native of Brockway in Jefferson County, Scarnati was elected to the Pennsylvania State Senate in 2000. A graduate of the Pennsylvania State University at DuBois, the Senator is a third-generation small business owner and served in local government.

Senator Dominic Pileggi (R-9) will serve his fourth term as Senate Majority Leader. His duties include overseeing the legislative agenda, developing policies and strategies for the Senate Republican Caucus, and playing a key role in floor debates. He will also have a major role in negotiating issues with the Administration and House of Representatives and in coordinating action on the Senate floor.

Pileggi was first elected to the Pennsylvania Senate in 2002. Prior to his election to the Senate, Senator Pileggi served as Mayor of the City of Chester from 1998 to 2002. He also served as a Chester City Councilman from 1994 to 1998 and on the school board for Chester-Upland School District.

Leadership of the Senate Appropriations Committee, one of the most influential of the standing committees, will remain with Senator Jake Corman (R-34) of Centre County. The committee reviews all legislation for its fiscal impact and plays a crucial role in developing the state budget.

Senator Pat Browne (R-16) of Lehigh County was elected Majority Whip. His duties include acting as assistant floor leader, working to gain support for legislation and assuring that Republican policies and strategies are maintained through the cooperative efforts of the majority caucus.

Senator Mike Waugh (R-28) of York County will serve as Majority Caucus Chairman for the 2013-2014 legislative session. As chairman he will preside over Republican caucus meetings to discuss bills and amendments and to develop caucus strategy.

As the Senate Majority Caucus Secretary, Senator Bob Robbins (R-50) of Mercer County will oversee all executive nominations submitted to the Senate for confirmation. He will coordinate the review of the background and experience of nominees and ensure that proper documentation is submitted.

Senate Republicans hold a 27-23 majority in the State Senate. Three Senate Republicans will retire at the end of the 2012 session. They include Senator Jeffrey Piccola (R-15), Senator Mary Jo White (R-21), and Senator Jane Earll (R-49).

Senator-elect Scott Hutchinson will be sworn in to represent the 21st Senatorial District in January.

The news leader of the Twin Tiers ... since 1947


Popular posts from this blog

Indie Film Series Starts Sept. 18

Casey Statement on VAWA Passage

Cuomo Signs New Gun Laws