Brockway Teacher Finalist for
National Teacher of the Year Award

For the first time ever a Pennsylvania teacher is a finalist for the National Teacher of the Year Award.

Ryan Devlin, a teacher at Brockway Area High School for seven years, has been selected as one of four finalists for the award. Last year, he was Pennsylvania’s teacher of the year and was the first teacher in this region to receive that award.

“We congratulate Ryan for receiving this high honor,” Senator Joe Scarnati said. “Being nominated for the national teaching award is a tremendous achievement and testament to his engaging and innovative approach to helping students learn. Our community is very fortunate to have outstanding teachers, like Ryan, who focus their lives on helping students reach their full potential.”

“We are truly fortunate that Ryan has dedicated his career to teaching students in the community where he grew up,” State Representative Sam Smith said. “Ryan’s dedication to his profession shows that he truly cares about young people and continually goes the extra mile to help them learn and grow. I met Ryan for the first time when he was an innovative high school student. His accomplishments as a teacher are simply outstanding. Ryan is a great source of pride for our entire community and I offer him my sincere congratulations.”

Devlin is an 11th grade English and 9 -12th grade technology teacher at Brockway Area Junior/Senior High School, where he has taught for seven years. In addition he serves as Head of the English Department, as the school’s Head Cross Country Coach and the Senior High Gifted Advisor.

He received his Bachelor’s degree in Secondary English Education from Waynesburg University and his Master’s degree in Educational Leadership from California University of Pennsylvania.

The National Teacher of the Year for 2014 will be announced in April and will be recognized during a ceremony at the White House.

Scarnati and Smith also noted that they look forward to welcoming Devlin to the Pennsylvania State Capitol in Harrisburg this year.

The National Teacher of the Year Program, which began in 1952, is run by the Council of Chief State School Officers.

The news leader of the Twin Tiers ... since 1947


Popular posts from this blog

Indie Film Series Starts Sept. 18

Casey Statement on VAWA Passage

Cuomo Signs New Gun Laws