11 Counties Get Disaster Declaration

Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Allegany and 8 other New York counties have been approved for a federal major disaster declaration following severe storms and flooding in May that caused serious damage.

Governor Andrew Cuomo says he’s pleased that President Obama has responded to his request, and that the declaration will bring much needed federal financial aid to communities that saw some of the worst flooding they’ve seen in decades.

More than 6,500 homes and businesses were without power and more than 130 families experience significant property damage during the storms that started May 12. A state of emergency was declared the Village of Gowanda.

FEMA’s preliminary damage estimate shows that the state and counties spent more than $28 million in response and recovery efforts.

The news leader of the Twin Tiers ... since 1947


Popular posts from this blog

Woman Charged with Posting
Nude Picture on Facebook

Two Arrested on Drug Charges

Arrests in Operation Diamond Drop